Board of Directors

David W. Cornhill (B.Sc.(Hons.), MBA) (1)

David Cornhill
Chairman of the Board of Directors, Non-Independent Director

Mr. Cornhill is Chairman of the Board, a position he has held since AltaGas Services Inc.’s (AltaGas’ predecessor) inception in 1994.  Mr. Cornhill is a founding shareholder of AltaGas Services Inc. and was Chief Executive Officer from 1994 to 2016.  Prior to forming AltaGas Services Inc., Mr. Cornhill served in the capacities of Vice President, Finance and Administration, and Treasurer at Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd. from 1991 to 1993 and as President and Chief Executive Officer until 1994.

Mr. Cornhill is an experienced leader in the business community and is a strong supporter of communities and community collaboration, investment and enhancement. 

Mr. Cornhill serves on the Board of Governors at Western University and is a member of the Ivey Advisory Board at Western. He holds a Bachelor of Science (Hons.) degree and a Master of Business Administration degree, both from Western, and was awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree by Western in 2015.

Catherine M. Best, FCPA, FCA, ICD.D (3)(4)

Catherine M. Best
Independent Director

Ms. Best has been a corporate director since 2009.  Until May 2009, she served as Interim Chief Financial Officer of Alberta Health Services.  Prior to that she was Executive Vice-President, Risk Management and Chief Financial Officer of Calgary Health Region from 2000. Prior to 2000, she was with Ernst & Young, a firm of chartered accountants where she served as a staff member and manager from 1980 to 1991, and was Corporate Audit Partner from 1991 to 2000.

Ms. Best holds a Bachelor of Interior Design degree from the University of Manitoba.  She is a Chartered Accountant, was awarded her FCA designation in 2002 and her ICD.D in 2009 and is a member of the Board of the Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation, the Calgary Foundation, The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company and the Calgary Stampede Foundation.

Victoria A. Calvert (2)(5)

Victoria Calvert
Independent Director

Ms. Calvert is the Community Service Learning (CSL) Facilitator for Mount Royal University (MRU) in Calgary, and a Professor of Entrepreneurship and International Business at the Bissett School of Business at MRU, where she has taught since 1988.

Ms. Calvert has served as a director of the Heritage Park Society Board and as an advisor for the Canadian Alliance for Community Service Learning.  She has consulted for more than 30 years, and published extensively regarding community engagement. Research interests include developing strategies for institutional and community partnerships, Global Service Learning, and structuring CSL for optimal stakeholder impact.

Allan L. Edgeworth, P.Eng (2)(3)

Allan Edgeworth
Independent Director

Mr. Edgeworth is a Professional Engineer and an independent businessman. He was the President of ALE Energy Inc. (a private consulting company) from January 2005 through December 2015.  Mr. Edgeworth was the President and CEO of Alliance Pipeline Ltd. from 2001 until 2004.  He joined Alliance Pipeline Ltd. in 1998 as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.

Mr. Edgeworth was a Commission member and Director of the Alberta Securities Commission.  He has also served on the Boards of the Interstate National Gas Association of America and the Canadian Gas Association and is a past-Chair of the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association.

Mr. Edgeworth holds a Bachelor of Applied Science from the University of British Columbia in Geological Engineering and is a graduate of the Queen’s Executive Program.

Daryl H. Gilbert, P.Eng (2)(4)

Daryl Gilbert
Independent Director

Mr. Gilbert is a Professional Engineer and joined JOG Capital Inc. in May 2008 as a Managing Director and Investment Committee member.  He has also been an independent businessman and investor, and serves as a director for a number of public companies. 

Mr. Gilbert has been active in the western Canadian oil and natural gas sector for over 40 years, working in reserves evaluation with Gilbert Laustsen Jung Associates Ltd. (now GLJ Petroleum Consultants Ltd.) (“GLJ”), an engineering consulting firm, from 1979 to 2005.  Mr. Gilbert served as President and Chief Executive Officer of GLJ from 1994 to 2005.

David Harris (B.Sc., MBA)

David Harris
President and Chief Executive Officer, Non-Independent Director

Mr. Harris is a Professional Engineer and has been the President and Chief Executive Officer of AltaGas since April 16, 2016.   He joined AltaGas in October 2010 and has held several positions within the organization including Chief Operating Officer, President Gas and Power and Vice President Major Projects Power. 

Prior thereto, Mr. Harris had 20 years of construction, engineering, operations and management experience in the international energy sector.  Prior to working in the private sector, Mr. Harris held the rank of Commander in the United States Navy.

Mr. Harris earned an EP MBA from the University of Virginia, and a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and a Bachelor of Science in Nuclear Engineering from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Robert B. Hodgins, CPA, CA (3)(5)

Robert Hodgins
Independent Director

Mr. Hodgins is a Chartered Accountant and has been an independent businessman since November 2004.  Prior to that, he was the Chief Financial Officer of Pengrowth Energy Trust (now Pengrowth Corporation) from 2002 to 2004, Vice President and Treasurer of Canadian Pacific Limited from 1998 to 2002 and Chief Financial Officer of TransCanada PipeLines Limited from 1993 to 1998.

Mr. Hodgins received an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Business from the Richard Ivey School of Business at Western University and received a Chartered Accountant designation. He was admitted as a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario in 1977 and Alberta in 1991 and he is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Phillip R. Knoll, P.Eng (2)(3)

Phillip Knoll
Independent Director

Mr. Knoll is a Professional Engineer and the President of Knoll Energy Inc. Prior thereto, he was CEO of Corridor Resources Inc. from 2010 to 2014.  Mr. Knoll was a director of AltaGas Utility Group Inc. from 2005 to 2009.  His other roles included Group Vice President, Duke Energy Gas Transmission, Chair, Management Committee and President for Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline, as well as senior roles at Westcoast Energy Inc., TransCanada Pipelines Limited and Alberta Natural Gas Company Ltd.

Mr. Knoll has over 35 years of varied experience in the energy sector, primarily related to energy infrastructure businesses.

Mr. Knoll holds a Bachelor of Applied Science from the Technical University of Nova Scotia in Chemical Engineering.

M. Neil McCrank Q.C., P.Eng (4)(5)(6)

Neil McCrank
Independent Lead Director

Mr. McCrank is senior counsel to Borden Ladner Gervais LLP in its Calgary office.  He was Chairman of the Alberta Energy and Utilities Board from 1998 to 2007.  Prior thereto he was with the Alberta Department of Justice serving in various capacities, including Deputy Minister of Justice from 1989 to 1998.

Mr. McCrank holds a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and a Bachelor of Laws from Queens University.

(1) Chairman of the Board
(2) Member of the Environment, Occupational Health and Safety Committee, chaired by Allan Edgeworth
(3) Member of the Audit Committee, chaired by Robert Hodgins
(4) Member of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee, chaired by Daryl Gilbert
(5) Member of the Governance Committee, chaired by Neil McCrank
(6) The Lead Director acts as chair of the Board whenever the Board meets in-camera and independently of management