Board of Directors

David W. Cornhill (B.Sc.(Hons.), MBA) (1)

David Cornhill
Chairman of the Board of Directors, Non-Independent Director

David Cornhill is Chairman of the Board of Directors and Founder of AltaGas Ltd.  He has served as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of AltaGas since its inception in 1994, and held the role of Chief Executive Officer for more than two decades. Prior to forming AltaGas, Mr. Cornhill served in the capacities of Vice President, Finance and Administration, and Treasurer at Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd. from 1991 to 1993 and as President and Chief Executive Officer until March 31, 1994. He is a Director of Alterra Power Corp. and Painted Pony Petroleum Ltd. and a member of the Ivey Advisory Board.  He has served on various other non-profit boards with a focus on education and the community.

Catherine M. Best, FCA, ICD.D (3)(4)

Kay Best
Independent Director

Kay Best has been a director of AltaGas Ltd. since November 30, 2011. Ms. Best is a corporate director. From 2000 to March 2009 she was employed by Alberta Health Services and the Calgary Health Region, serving most recently as Interim Chief Financial Officer. Prior to 2000 she was with Ernst & Young.  Ms. Best is a Chartered Accountant, and was awarded her FCA designation in 2002 and her ICD.D in 2009.  She is also a member of the board of directors of the Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation, The Calgary Foundation and The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company.

Victoria A. Calvert (5)

Victoria Calvert
Independent Director

Victoria Calvert has been a director of AltaGas Ltd. since November 1, 2015.  Ms. Calvert is the Community Service Learning (CSL) Facilitator for Mount Royal University (MRU) in Calgary, and a Professor of Entrepreneurship and International Business at the Bissett School of Business at MRU, where she has taught since 1988. She has served as a director of the Heritage Park Society Board and as an advisor for the Canadian Alliance for Community Service Learning (CACSL). She has consulted for more than 30 years, and published extensively regarding community engagement. Research interests included developing strategies for institutional and community partnerships, Global Service Learning, and structuring CSL for optimal stakeholder impact.

Allan L. Edgeworth (2)(3)

Allan Edgeworth
Independent Director

Al Edgeworth has been a director of AltaGas Ltd. and its predecessor since March 2, 2005.  Mr. Edgeworth is a Professional Engineer and an independent businessman. He was the President of ALE Energy Inc. (a private consulting company) from January 2005 through December 2015.  Mr. Edgeworth was the President and CEO of Alliance Pipeline Ltd. from 2001 until December 2004.  Mr. Edgeworth joined Alliance Pipeline Ltd. in 1998 as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.

Daryl H. Gilbert, P.Eng. (2)(4)

Daryl Gilbert
Independent Director

Daryl Gilbert has been a director of AltaGas Ltd. and its predecessors since May 4, 2000.  Mr. Gilbert is a Professional Engineer, and joined JOG Capital Inc. in May 2008 as a Managing Director and Investment Committee Member, and prior thereto was an independent businessman since January 2005.  Prior to that, Mr. Gilbert was President and Chief Executive Officer of Gilbert Laustsen Jung Associates Ltd., an engineering consulting firm.

David Harris (B.Sc., MBA)

David Harris
President and Chief Executive Officer, Non-Independent Director

David Harris was elected as a director of AltaGas Ltd. at the 2017 Annual General Meeting of Shareholders held on April 26, 2017. Mr. Harris is a Professional Engineer and has been the President and Chief Executive Officer of AltaGas since April 16, 2016. Mr. Harris joined AltaGas in October 2010 and has held the positions of Chief Operating Officer, President Gas and Power, President Power and Vice President Major Projects Power. Prior thereto, Mr. Harris had 20 years of construction, engineering, operations and management experience in the international energy sector. Prior to working in the private sector, Mr. Harris held the rank of Commander in the United States Navy. Mr. Harris earned an EP MBA from the University of Virginia, and a BS in Mechanical Engineering and a BS in Nuclear Engineering from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Robert B. Hodgins, CPA, C.A. (3)(5)

Robert Hodgins
Independent Director

Bob Hodgins has been a director of AltaGas Ltd. and its predecessor since March 2, 2005. Mr. Hodgins is a Chartered Accountant and has been an independent businessman since November 2004.  Prior to that, Mr. Hodgins served as the Chief Financial Officer of Pengrowth Corporation from 2002 to 2004.  Prior to that, Mr. Hodgins held the position of Vice President and Treasurer of Canadian Pacific Limited from 1998 to 2002 and was Chief Financial Officer of TransCanada PipeLines Limited from 1993 to 1998.

Phillip R. Knoll, P.Eng., ICD.D (2)

Phillip Knoll
Independent Director

Phil Knoll has been a director of AltaGas Ltd. since November 1, 2015.  Mr. Knoll is a Professional Engineer and the President of Knoll Energy Inc.  Mr. Knoll previously was CEO of Corridor Resources Inc., Group Vice President, Duke Energy Gas Transmission, Chair, Management Committee and President for Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline, and held senior roles at Westcoast Energy Inc., TransCanada Pipelines Limited and Alberta Natural Gas Company Ltd. Mr. Knoll was a director of AltaGas Utility Group Inc. from 2005 to 2009. He has over 35 years of varied experience in the energy sector, primarily related to energy infrastructure businesses.

Neil McCrank Q.C., P.Eng (2)(5)(6)

Neil McCrank
Independent Lead Director

Neil McCrank has been a director of AltaGas Ltd. and its predecessor since December 10, 2007.  Mr. McCrank is counsel to Borden Ladner Gervais LLP in its Calgary office.  Mr. McCrank was Chairman of the Alberta Energy and Utilities Board from 1998 to 2007.  Prior thereto he was with the Alberta Department of Justice serving in various capacities, including Deputy Minister of Justice from 1989 to 1998.

(1) Chairman of the Board
(2) Member of the Environment, Occupational Health and Safety Committee, chaired by Allan Edgeworth
(3) Member of the Audit Committee, chaired by Robert Hodgins
(4) Member of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee, chaired by Daryl Gilbert
(5) Member of the Governance Committee, chaired by Neil McCrank
(6) The Lead Director acts as chair of the Board whenever the Board meets in-camera and independently of management